Skip to content

It’s a girl! (aka the “excitement word dump.”)

October 28, 2013

IT’S A GIRL!!!

I was starting to get a little upset that I didn’t have any of those “gender dreams” like I did with Luke. When I was pregnant with Luke, I drempt that he was born, I fell asleep, and he was 5 years old when I woke up. I fell asleep again and woke up at his high school graduation. Again, and I woke up at his wedding. Terrifying. But at least I knew he was a boy before the ultrasound.

THIS time, I’ve had some crazy dreams, but none that were very telling of her gender.

In hindsight, I should have known when I whimsically decided to delete all of the boy names from my favorites list on all the baby name websites. I narrowed it down to 4 baby girl names before we even knew for sure.

I kept these names secret from Andy.
As soon as we got in the car after the ultrasound, he said, “So what are these names you’ve been thinking of?”
I told him my 4, then told him which one was my favorite. And that is how Miss Nora Jewel got her name!

Luke was a 4 day process, I think.
Andy said, “I like the name Luke.”
I said, “I do too. But we should think of a longer middle name.”
A few days later, Andy said, “What about Luke Anthony?”
and I said, “I like it!”

Then we took a day to let it sink in to make sure we liked it. We took a day with Nora too, but we’re pretty sure it was going to be the final decision.

I feel like my heart has exploded. In a good way.
I’ve forgotten all about that first ectopic pregnancy and the frightening few days before realizing it was going to resolve itself rather than require surgery or chemo.
I’ve forgotten all about how I felt during the ultrasound when Julie couldn’t find a heartbeat. I remember she said she was so sorry, and I remember I didn’t cry because I was so in shock, but I don’t remember the loss.
I don’t remember any loss.

And now I’m busy picking out pillows and blankets, rearranging Luke’s room and my office to make room for a new little one. The little one that saved my life.

Also, I need to get this color scheme off my chest. Andy thinks these colors clash, but I’m in love with it, so it’s happening anyway. I’m just talking bedset though – not pink walls. I think that’s what Andy’s afraid of.

 

This is fun.
FYI, I’ll be keeping a registry on Etsy.com and a wishlist on Pinterest.

I’m going to go look at more pillows.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

